Tajikistan - CIS

Common wealth of Independent States

On 8 December 1991 in the residence of the Belarusian Government in Belovezhskaya forest preserve, the leaders of the Republic of Belarus, Russian Federation and Ukraine have signed the Agreement on establishment of the Commonwealth of Independent States (CIS).
On 21 December 1991 in Alma-Ata the heads of eleven sovereign states (except the Baltic states and Georgia) have signed the Protocol to the above Agreement, in which they stressed that the Azerbaijan Republic, Republic of Armenia, Republic of Belarus, Republic of Kazakstan, Kyrgyz Republic, Republic of Moldova, Russian Federation, Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Republic of Uzbekistan and Ukraine on equality basis established the Commonwealth of Independent States. The participants of the meeting have unanimously adopted the Alma-Ata Declaration, which confirmed the devotion of the former union republics to cooperation in various fields of external and internal policies, and announced the guarantees for implementation of international commitments of the former Soviet Union. Later, in December 1993 the Commonwealth was joined by Georgia. Thus, at present the CIS comprises 12 young sovereign states - former soviet republics.


Tajikistan and United Nations Specialized Agencies and Organizations


On 29 January 1992 UN Security Council unanimously accepted in its session a resolution with regard to the General Assembly's recommendation to accept the Republic of Tajikistan to the membership of the Organization. On 2 March 1992 in 46th Session of UN GA the Resolution 46/224 unanimously was adopted with regard to acceptance of the Republic of Tajikistan to the UN. The country's joining to Nations Community laid fundamental basis for development of its cooperation with the specialized organizations and institutions of UN.

UN Representation in Dushanbe was opened on 1 February 1993. The activities of UN Mission of Observers to Tajikistan (21 January 1993 - May 2000) through assistance to peacemaking efforts and assessment of war situation in the country secured progress of peace process in Tajikistan, rendered assistance in providing urgent humanitarian aid.


The Republic of Tajikistan and the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe


The Republic of Tajikistan signed the Helsinki Final Act in February 1992.

Pursuance to join the OSCE was dictated be the necessity to use its experience and means in democratic transformation of the society, maintaining and strengthening peace and security at the national, regional and international level, creating key elements of civil society.

The establishment of strong ties and development of cooperation with different international structures of security, including the OSCE, corresponds to the purposes and principles conducted by Tajikistan foreign policy; meets the interests of strengthening its sovereignty and national security.

Within 15 years very intensive and multisided cooperation was established between the Republic of Tajikistan, the OSCE and its institutions. The exchange of delegations on the regular bases is the clear evidence of growing relations between Tajikistan and the OSCE.


Cooperation between Republic of Tajikistan and Economic Cooperation Organization

Cooperation between Republic of Tajikistan and

Economic Cooperation Organization

Economic Cooperation Organization (ECO) established in March 12th 1977 by Islamic Republic of Iran, Republic of Turkey and Islamic Republic of Pakistan after signing Treaty of Izmir. After the "Cold War" the new realities made possible geographical expansion of the Organization by accession of the five Central-Asian countries, Azerbaijan and Afghanistan. These changes have transformed ECO into regional Organization with the special geostrategic significance and huge economic potential.

On November 28th, 1992 representatives of the new ECO Member-states - Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan have signed an additional Treaty in Islamabad (this day is declared as ECO Day).


Cooperation between the Republic of Tajikistan and the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC)

Cooperation between the Republic of Tajikistan

and the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC)

Republic of Tajikistan is a member of the Organization of Islamic Conference (OIC) since December 1, 1992. OIC declares following goals: strengthening of the Islamic solidarity and cooperation of the member-states; contribution to the elimination of racism and colonialism; implementing necessary measures to maintain international peace and security, based on principles of validity.

The Islamic Conference is composed of the following main bodies:

The Conference of Kings and Head of States/Governments - is the Supreme authority of the OIC, which meets once every three years to lay down the Organization's policy.

The Conference of Ministries of Foreign Affairs (ICFM) - is a Governing body of OIC, which meets once a year to examine a progress report on the implementation of its decisions taken within the framework of the policy defined by the Islamic Summit.

The General Secretariat, which is the executive organ of the Organization, entrusted with the implementation of the decisions of the two preceding bodies.