Tajikistan elected to become member of ECOSOC

On 14 June 2016, the General Assembly has elected 18 members of the United Nations Economic and Social Council for the term 2017-2018. Of 185 UN Member States present during the voting our country has managed to get 183 votes from Asia Pacific Group followed by CHINA (182), UAE (180), and Republic of Korea (179).

Along with the candidacy of Tajikistan from the Group of Asia and Pacific States, China (182), United Arab Emirates (180) and the Republic of Korea (179) were elected for the membership of ECOSOC.

Among the other regional groups in the membership of ECOSOC were also elected Azerbaijan (176), the Russian Federation (169), United Kingdom (172) Norway (177), Venezuela (177), and other countries.

The Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) is the United Nations’ central platform for reflection, debate, and innovative thinking on sustainable development.


Electronic Visa Application System

On June 1 2016 the new portal for issuance of electronic visas “e-Visa”, (https://www.evisa.tj) which enables foreign citizens willing to enter the country with tourist or business visas to complete the electronic application and receive the electronic visa without visiting consulate representatives of Tajikistan abroad, commences its operation.

The electronic visa system «e-Visa» will allow foreign citizens to receive Tajikistan visa online, relieving them from necessity to stand in queues in Tajikistan consulates or at the border. The new system is designed to facilitate the process of obtaining a visa to Tajikistan by foreign citizens, increase the number of tourists visiting Tajikistan, as well as to simplify visa procedures for businessmen. We also want to save time and relieve the personnel involved in the process of issuing visas.  

Applicants will receive their visas via email, after filling the application form with the necessary information and once the online payment by a credit card is completed. Applicants are to pay $ 50 by the internationally recognized electronic networks for the electronic processing, and in case of denial of the application the above mentioned amount is not refunded to the applicant. After paying the visa fee and once the application is successful, the applicant will receive an electronic visa, which is to be presented upon crossing the state border of Tajikistan along with the valid travel document.

Electronic visa of the Republic of Tajikistan is valid for 90 days, however the visa holder can stay in the territory of the country for no more than 45 calendar days.  Electronic visa is not extendable and the visa holder have to leave the country in the specified date.

The beginning of the referendum at the Embassy of the Republic of Tajikistan in Iran

Embassy of the Republic of Tajikistan in the Islamic Republic of Iran  since the beginning of the morning Monument with the sound of the national anthem of the Republic of Tajikistan started its work and  citizens, whom are  temporarily living and studying in the territory of the Islamic Republic  of Iran come to the polls and vote.

 The young people, who are  constructive and pro-government and nation, in all walks of life are always leading.  The students of the  University of Medical Sciences and National University of Isfahan, Hamedan, Gorgan University, Qom, Imam Khomeini International University with 118 people who were citizens come first, in this important program in the country - a popular referendum on introducing changes and amendments the constitution of the Republic of Tajikistan, were actively and worthy and thus play their role in society and politics.


The Republic of Tajikistan